Dragon Fruit

………………………………………………………………

….


The other day I took a trip to my local farmers market and got a treat. As I walked down the aisle I saw something exquisite. I was surprised to learn instantly I did not have to go to China for a piece of dragon fruit, because it was right in front of me. In all it purple, red, and green, my eyes began to brighten as I told my wife,” we just have to buy one of these.” She smiled at me and we left the store excited realizing the fruit we were about to explore.

The taste of the fruit was unique and I was amazed. I did not know what to expect because with a dragon fruit, what you see is not what you get. The outside is beautiful and red, pink, and yellow, with green leaves. Dragon fruit reminds you of a cactus pear, being it’s a member of the cactus family. This druit tastes best served cold. However, when you open it its pulp is white with tiny black seeds. What a strange fruit, with such a remarkable taste. Sweet and tangy it was like fresh candy I could pick. Remints you of a cross between a kiwi, pear, and a friut from Grenada called sugar apple.

I will definitely buy it again, for fruit platters to impress. Dragon fruit also makes great juice, cocktails, jams, jellies, or just a snack with yogurt. Dragon fruit even has health benefits. It is high in anti oxidants,phosphorus, fiber, calcium and vitamin C. It also is low in calories, helps hypertension, eyesight, boosts the immune system, and prevents cancer. So next time you go to the store, try something new. Just because a fruit is named after a dragon does not mean its bad for you.

Leave a Reply

